Chalkboard fun.

6 Nov

Over the next few months, I’m going to be in bridal/baby shower mode!

My sweet sister and her wonderful guy, Amelia and Brad, are getting married on July 5th (no such luck talking her into American flag bridesmaid dresses…yet).  Our sweet cousins Linsday and Steve are having their first baby in January.  I’m in shower-throwing heaven right now!

I’ve been dying to get my hands on some chalkboard paint and try some fun projects, and these showers have given me the perfect excuse! I thought I would make some food labels that can be used over and over at different showers.

I tried a few different chalkboard paints, and the one I liked most was Martha Stewart’s.

I wanted to paint the bottom of a ceramic tray (you’ll see why in a bit!), and I came across the acrylic frames in Hobby Lobby.  I thought they would be perfect as food labels.  They’re the ones that you can slide a picture into. They have a lip, so they stand up on their own!

Next steps are easy.  Paint 1 coat.  Wait an hour. Paint another coat. Wait 24 hours.

After the 24 hour period is up, you’ll need to season the paint.  Just rub some chalk lightly over the area that you painted.  Then, you’re ready to write!

I painted the bottom of the ceramic tray because I thought it would be neat to put ramekins with different sauces that will be used at the shower.

I’m excited about how these turned out, and I can’t wait to use them at showers!

Hope everyone is out there VOTING!

One Response to “Chalkboard fun.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Favorites « Klein & Co. - November 9, 2012

    […] Chalkboard fun. Obviously. […]

Thanks for the love, y'all!