This is my jam.

8 Jun

One of my–and David’s–all time favorite musicians is Neil Young.  His voice is so raw and filled with emotion, and I don’t think there’s another musician that can draw me in like he can.

I’m an old soul when it comes to music.  Part of the reason for this, I think, is knowing the lyrics.  I love singing along to songs…and you can’t do that unless you know the music.  I usually shy away from new music, which is stupid, because how will I learn the lyrics unless I listen!?  So, I usually end up caught in this cycle of the same music over and over again.  Neil Young and Crazy Horse just solved my problem.  Their album,  Americana, which came out this week, is a re-imagining of some classic American folk songs.  And it is pretty incredible.

I’m willing to bet this song gets you moving.  Oh, oh, oh Susannah!

Track Listing

Oh Susannah
Clementine
Tom Dooley
Gallows Pole
Get A Job
Travel On
High Flyin’ Bird
She’ll Be Comin ’Round The Mountain
This Land Is Your Land
Wayfarin’ Stranger
God Save The Queen

 

It’s amazing to hear these songs that we’re all so familiar with turned into seriously gritty rock and roll.  Take a listen.  You already know the words!

Thanks for the love, y'all!