Time for breakfast.

21 Feb

During the week, breakfast for me is usually a Fiber One bar or a bagel.  I’m not what one might call a ‘morning person,’ so I’m definitely not up early enough to make anything fabulous for breakfast.  Over the weekends, though, I do like to make breakfast, but I typically don’t venture far from an omelet or something similar.

I came across this picture on Pinterest, and I thought it looked easy enough to try.

Mine don’t look quiiiite as pretty as that, but they ended up tasting great!  I just sliced a bell pepper (about 1/2 inch thick) and let it cook on one side for about a minute.  Then, I flipped the pepper, cracked the egg into it, and let it cook! I added a dash of cayenne pepper on top for some heat.

Since these were so easy to make, I made some extra so we could taste test and determine which we liked best.  Here’s what I learned…

  • For the first few, I used our stainless cookware.  Not the best idea.  Definitely try this with a cast iron pan or a nonstick pan.  The next few I did with a nonstick pan, and we like those much better.  You lose a layer of the egg with the stainless cookware.
  • There are two ways you can cook the top… 1.  Put a lid on the pan for the last few minutes of cooking.  2.  Flip the egg/pepper for the last few minutes of cooking.  We ended up liking the flipped eggs better, but to each his own!

 

2 Responses to “Time for breakfast.”

  1. Lisa February 21, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    That looks tasty–I will have to give it a try sometime! Have you ever tried Egg in a Basket? It’s basically the same thing, except you use a piece of bread with a hole cut in the middle instead. It’s one of our favorite easy ways to make eggs.

    • Klein & Co. February 21, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

      Ummmm, that sounds AMAZING! I’ll definitely try that this weekend! Thanks!

Thanks for the love, y'all!

