Dining Chair Re-Do

20 Jan

I’ve been trying to decide what to do with my dining room chairs for about two years now.  Whoops.

I love our dining room table.  I happened across it at Ballard’s Backroom.  If you haven’t been there, go now.  They have some seriously amazing things at seriously amazing prices.  I ended up getting our table (with TWO huge leaves, making enough room to seat 14!) for $150.  It needed some work.  There were a few deep gouges, so I had to sand the whole table down and stain it.  I was going to paint it, but I ended up loving the natural look of the wood.

I can’t remember how much I spent on our 6 chairs, but I know it was less than the table…and they were brand new!  They came upholstered with a linen-y type fabric.  Obviously, they were meant to be covered immediately.  Apparently, I’ve been in a bland mood for the past few years, but now I’m ready to move on.

I’ve got a few ideas, but I kind of feel like I’m all over the place.

My first idea was to paint the wood of each chair a different color.  I love that look so much.  I may eventually end up doing this, but I have decided to work with the fabric first.  I love painting furniture, but it’s a major undertaking.  I feel like I could re-upholster my chairs in a weekend, and get this project finished quickly.

Next idea?  Painting the current fabric.  I’ve seen lots of blogger-types who claim it is easy and amazing and fabulous.  Liz at It’s Great to be Home has a great tutorial on painting fabric chairs.  Seriously, how perfect are those chairs of hers?!

Next idea?  Just re-upholster the darn things.  I happened upon this website the other day, and I just can’t help but be obsessed with fabric.  The problem here is trying to pick a fabric.  I’ve always been drawn to bold, geometric prints like this and this.  However, I can’t help but think that–with the little amount of fabric that is on these chairs–a big, fun, vintage-y floral fabric might be amazing.

So, I need your help.  What are your thoughts on what would look best with my table and chairs?  Would you lean more geometric or more floral?  If you like the geometric look, would you try your hand at painting, or would you just spring for the new fabric?

Happy Friday, y’all!

4 Responses to “Dining Chair Re-Do”

  1. Natalie Kilgore January 20, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    I love geometric fabric! I would recover them — only because I’m lazy and the thought of painting a design on all those chairs wears me out! Can’t wait to see what you end up doing with them!

    • Klein & Co. January 20, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

      I’m leaning towards the recovering, too. I’m worried the painting would make the fabric feel stiff/scratchy?? Thanks for the advice!

  2. Carolyn January 20, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Check out this blog: furniturereincarnated.blogspot.com – she does all kinds of cool things with furniture (hence the name) and she always has a step by step process on how to achieve the looks! Good luck! I think you should do different colors, too!!

    • Klein & Co. January 20, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

      Oh wow. That blog is amazing!!! Thanks for the tip!!!

Thanks for the love, y'all!

