Red Velvet Trifle

17 Jan

I’ll be honest. I knew that I could turn a broken cake into a trifle, but it really didn’t sound that intriguing to me.

I’m not a whipped cream girl, and I didn’t think a broken cake with whipped cream would be all that great.

But, oh my, it was. It definitely was.

This was the second cake. Much more salvageable than the first. We were able to cut it into big cubes. My mother in law had also made a pound cake, so we used that, too.

From the bottom up, here’s how we made our layers…

  • Pound and red velvet cubes
  • Meringue cookies
  • Whipped Cream. Lots of whipped cream.

Repeat layers until you’re out of cake. Or out of room in your bowl. Let’s hope we never run out of cake.

Let it set in the refrigerator for a few hours. I think this was key. The whipped cream melted a bit, and the meringue and cake soaked it up. And, my goodness. So very good.

Thanks for the love, y'all!

