The Red (and Green) Velvet Disaster

30 Dec

For two of our many Christmas celebrations, I planned to make two red velvet cakes.

I should have known to just put down the mixer and stop as soon as I realized I only had green food coloring.

But, green is Christmas, right?  So I made myself think it would be just perfect.

Now, I have a red velvet recipe that I use every time.  And every time, it is delicious.  For some reason, I decided to pick a random, new recipe.

Big. Huge. Massive. Mistake.

The first Green Velvet crumbled into a million, billion pieces.

But it's such a beautiful shade of green!

But I didn’t cry.

I assumed that I did something wrong, left something out.  Surely the second go round would be perfection!

The second (Red this time.  I found my food coloring.) was much less crumbly.  It only broke into a million pieces.

Still, I didn’t cry.

I believe there are two reasons why I was able to hold it together after two cakes fell apart.

1.  I didn’t tell anyone I was bringing the Red Velvets.  They were supposed to be delicious surprises.  No pressure.  I might do this from here on out….

2.  Wine.

Shockingly, I was able to save these cakes and turn them into delicious treats.  My next two posts?  Cake Balls and a Red Velvet Trifle.

One Response to “The Red (and Green) Velvet Disaster”

  1. Leslie December 31, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    We are still eating the remants of the green velvet cake, aka, cake pops!! Delish!!

Thanks for the love, y'all!

