…in which I attempt a Winter wreath…

19 Jan

I really like pushing my Christmas decoration time limits.

But, my Christmas wreath couldn’t stay up forever.  So, I was determined to create another wreath.

Now, I’m not very good at seasonal decorating.  Other than Christmas.  Which I wish I could keep up all year long. I may have already mentioned that.

I wanted to create a wreath I could keep up forever.  Ultimately, what I ended up with was way more Wintery than I expected.  But, it was easy…which means I can do it again!

Unfortunately, I started creating before I started picture taking, so please excuse the lack of photos.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • one vine wreath
  • glue gun/sticks
  • feathers!!!!
  • flowers, a variety of large and small blooms

If you aren’t sure about what flowers to pick, just head to your Hobby Lobby, Michael’s, etc.  Everything in their floral section is grouped by color.  So, once you start to gravitate towards a certain palette, just pick up some blooms you think are fabulous!  Note: feathers can also be found in a variety of colors in the craft store floral section.

Cut your stems off, but leave about 2 inches or so.  If you’ve got a tighter vine wreath, you might have to cut yours a little shorter.

I placed my feathers in first, since I wanted them sitting behind my flowers.  You shouldn’t need to use any hot glue for this.  I just stuck them in between different sticks of the wreath.

Next, I determined where I wanted my larger blooms to be.  Pump a little hot glue on each stem, and stick it into the wreath.  Keep doing this until you’ve arranged your flowers how you like it.  I really liked not having a specific idea in my head of what I wanted.  Be sure to play around with the placement of the flowers before you start with the hot glue.

I remembered that I had a wooden K and decided to add that to my wreath.  I liked how it looked beside the white/brown of the flowers and feathers.  A bit more hot glue, and it was set!

I’m pretty pumped with how it turned out.  And even more pumped that I don’t have to take it down for a while.

Thanks for the love, y'all!

